Letters from the (Home)front

Dearest reader,

It has been half a fortnight since my previous letter. I can only hope you received it in good health and somewhat intact sanity. As for myself, this current battleground has tested the former and demolished the latter.

My enemy is cunning. Though he is but a child of four months, he has claimed my weaknesses as his own strengths. He needs sleep, food, and warmth, and how else does he obtain these things but at my own expense? When I deign to rest my head, he calls for comfort. When I sit to feast on our meager portions, he screams for sustenance. And my futile attempts at drafting and editing are oft foiled by that most menacing of adversaries: a soiled diaper.

They say this conflict is temporary. Yet in my darkest moments, I confess I fear an eternity of swaddles and sleep sacks, of bottles washed and bottles drained.

In a most disturbing development, this child who purports to be my own flesh and blood has allied with the local wildlife. In dastardly coordination, when the child lays down to sleep at last, the dog takes its cue to ring the bell for an excursion. When the dog has been wrangled once more, she barks at imaginary intruders, prompting the child to wail in desolate harmony with his collaborator. And so the cycle begins anew.

My comfort lies in your aid, dear reader. Through the avenues of Unlimited Kindling and the Noble Lord Barnes, you may purchase copies of my hard-fought manuscript for your reading pleasure. Those whose generosity has already been felt may submit their opinions on said manuscript for the public’s consumption.

With your financial boon, I may yet prevail another hour, another sunrise, until our efforts transform this child into an agent of peace, showering a full night’s rest upon his weary progenitors.

Yours truly and tiredly,

Addison Horner
Commander, Baby Rearing Battalion, Second Pacifying Division

P.S. – Rumors abound that this babe shall instead grow into a creature of greater mobility, increased verbosity, and sharper malice. They call it a “toddler.” Such rumors are surely exaggerated.

Writing Updates

SPOOKY SEQUEL // Edits are back!

The good news: almost all of the 4,600 (forty-six hundred!) suggestions are minor. After going through big-picture changes, I’ll spend most of the edit fine-tuning prose, description, and emotional presentation.

Coming soon is my favorite part of the edit: a video call to discuss the manuscript and talk through the best way to implement these changes! Until then, I’m taking notes on my editor’s notes to prepare for implementing the edits.

Current goal: send to beta readers by June 3.

Want to be one of those beta readers? Stay tuned for signups; newsletter subscribers get first dibs.

SPOOKY THREEQUEL // I’m approaching the 75% mark of the story. Over the next several chapters, I’ll be doing something I’ve never done in the last 250,000+ words of this series: using different perspectives.

The story up to this point comes entirely from Safran’s limited POV, but the thematic and narrative drive has given me an opportunity to bring several characters’ experiences to life—including (and especially) everyone’s favorite little brother!

Is this a spoiler? Yep! Will anyone remember this by the time this book actually releases in 2026? Probably not!

VESPER // After letting this one sit for a few months, I came back to flesh out the outline for each scene. With that done, I’m planning to start drafting in June or July, once Spooky Threequel’s first draft is complete.

One thing’s for sure: with ten unique mystical species and counting, I’m gonna need lots of artwork. I’m planning to work with the excellent artist who drew Nightlight, the lovable luceren, for Marrow and Soul:

Look at this goodest boi!

See ya in the next one.

Addison