avocados and anxiety

The box had avocados on it.

Exhibit A . . . for Avocado.

Not just any avocados. The logo for Avocado Tree Press, my publishing imprint, was printed on the packaging tape. The tape was on the box, the box was in my hands, and my hands (and body) were in the post office, ready to deliver a book I’d written (!) to someone I’ve never met.

How was I feeling? Anxious. So anxious.

When I reached the counter, a rather detached postal worker waited, blank-faced, for my query. Nervous, I asked a question about the shipping label I’d printed at home. Without batting an eye, she tapped the top of the box, smack-dab in the middle of my avocados.

I attached the label to the box, got my receipt, and . . . that was it.

Through the years of writing and months of Kickstarter prep, I’d been so terrified of this moment—the moment I would officially send my debut novel into the wild.

And it was exceedingly normal.

Sometimes, the things we dread are much smaller than we imagine them to be.

And that’s wonderful, because it means I can share my books with readers like you.

Advance Reader Copies (ARCs) are coming soon. If you want to read Marrow and Soul for free, keep an eye out for ARC applications by the end of this month.

Kickstarter Backers…

Exhibit B . . . for Bonkers amounts of cardboard.

As of yesterday, eBooks and digital rewards are in your inboxes! If you backed the Kickstarter, look for an email (or multiple emails) from [email protected] in your inbox or spam folder.

The only digital rewards remaining are The Ghost Tablet (first-draft eBook for limited edition backers) and a short story going out to all backers.

Paperbacks are in progress. As you can see from my sterling assembly line above, I’m packing and shipping the boxes this week. Next week, we tackle hardcovers and limited editions.

Writing Updates

SPOOKY SEQUEL // Revisions are officially complete. My incomparable development editor will take on this manuscript at the beginning of January. With this story off my plate for several weeks, I can focus on . . .

SPOOKY THREEQUEL // . . . the next book! I wrote the first chapter this week. I’m a big believer in weaving together the threads of a story from beginning to end, so I’ve enjoyed shaping themes and motifs for the opening scene. I can’t wait to play out the stories and images I’ve crafted over 90,000 words.

IVORY // Perhaps you’re asking, “What happened to VESPER?” VESPER is waiting happily in my drafting queue. With whatever spare time I can find between Kickstarter, drafting, editing, family, holidays, recitals, and baby prep, I’m exploring a new fantasy story codenamed IVORY. I thought of the premise two months ago, and the upcoming Christmas break may be the perfect time to explore this magical, musical world.

Newsletter readers get first dibs on ARC applications! Stay tuned for the application link.

Until next time,

Addison