better with friends

I talk to myself a lot.

As a verbal processor, I like hearing things out loud. My thoughts are a messy, tangled ball of yarn, and I can’t always find the thread.

Even as I sit in Starbucks and write this newsletter, I’m tempted to audition these sentences out loud. When I’m driving, taking a walk, or working, I find that talking through whatever’s on my mind at the moment brings clarity and direction.

Most of the time.

But you know what makes conversation better? Other people.

Finding a community of authors, editors, readers, and book people has made my writing journey that much more exciting. With Marrow and Soul releasing in 23 days (!), I’d like to share that journey with you.

Click the image to get the livestream link!

I’m hosting a livestream exclusively for Kickstarter backers and newsletter subscribers. Here’s what’s on the agenda:

  • Talking all things writing, publishing, Kickstarter, and creativity

  • Giving away a limited edition copy of Marrow and Soul for Kickstarter backers

  • Taking questions from the audience

  • Marrow and Soul spoiler talk (at the end)!

If you want the inside scoop on a self-published journey, this is your chance:

1) Click this link and select “Notify me” so you don’t miss out.

2) Email me with your questions so I can answer them on air.

3) If you want an Advanced Reader Copy of the book, just respond to this email with the word ARC while spots remain.

Kickstarter Backers…

All rewards have been sent! I’m thankful for your support, so much so that I may just try another one this fall.

Don’t forget to check out the livestream for our limited edition giveaway!

Writing Updates

SPOOKY SEQUEL // Edits have officially begun! My wonderful editor Elizabeth Thompson starts with a read-through of the manuscript before diving in with notes. For Marrow and Soul, she made over 1,500 comments and suggestions. Let’s see if we can beat that record with Book Two.

SPOOKY THREEQUEL // We’re almost done with the first act of the manuscript . . .

With the sun’s disappearance comes a biting, shivering wind. Loose sand replaces the hard clay beneath Safran’s feet as flurries of grit swirl past her eyes and coat her tongue. She reminds herself that every step brings her closer to her goal, closer to rest. One step at a time, as always.

When they stop at the base of a towering dune, Kammon lays Safran gently against the slope. From his pocket, he takes a ragged cloth that had probably been a handkerchief in a former life and offers it to her. Safran presses it against her nose and mouth, and in that moment she feels closer to him than she has in weeks.

Then she remembers the pillar.

Where once there had been only smoke, blazing tongues of flame chase each other into the midnight sky. Orange veins and blood-red rivulets course along the pillar’s surface. Safran cannot hear it, but she imagines the crackling roar of the fire as it consumes the path she’d taken from Iynjahl. Notes of ash and charred glass tease her nostrils, and the pillar looks no farther away than it had in the afternoon.

“It’s chasing us,” Seele says. The raven-haired girl sits on the dune, one hand pressed to her heart, the other propping her up.

“Not chasing,” Olaudah corrects her. Safran watches him crest the dune and point to something she can’t see from her resting position. “Keeping pace. It knows where we’re going.”

- from Chapter 9

The livestream is Saturday, January 20 at 8 pm.