đź–Š Help Wanted!

New artwork and new dates.

Preparing to Launch

The Kickstarter campaign for Marrow and Soul is almost ready. If you’re not following already, click the Notify me on launch button on the Upcoming Project page ⬇️

Click or tap the image to check out the Kickstarter!

Our Kickstarter launch date is…

Friday, October 6!

While I planned to launch at the beginning of September, Kickstarter is running a special promotion for magical-themed projects in October. Since that boost will put Marrow and Soul in front of more potential readers, I’m delaying the project start date a few weeks.

If you want to help me spread the word at launch, reply “STREET TEAM” to this email! All you’ll have to do is make a social media post on launch day. I’ll provide images and captions—you don’t even have to be creative (unless you want to…)

I’m grateful that this delay is only about maximizing the book’s reach, not production/completion issues. But as a thanks for your patience, I’ll release the first five chapters in September, exclusively for newsletter subscribers!

Writing Updates

Marrow and Soul: As I write this, I’m preparing final print proofs AND preparing the Kickstarter-exclusive limited edition hardcovers! With the manuscript in the hands of my final proofreader, I can focus on formatting tweaks and promotion.

Codename SPOOKY SEQUEL: On August 12, I finished the first draft! Exhilarated as I am, the next step is setting the manuscript aside for a month or two so I can dive into Kickstarter life and approach revisions with less bias.

Here’s the beginning of the final chapter:

The table bears no food or furnishings. Safran traces a groove in the sanded wood top, missing the white runner and ceramic plates that would break the room’s dirt-brown monotony. Dying flames flicker in the hearth at her back, and the oppressive Moesian heat lingers by the door, seeping through cracks and fogging the windows.

This is Safran’s dream. Her house. But the setting has changed.

Mother sits straight-backed across from Safran, face calm, hands clasped. Her right ring finger rubs the thin, twine-wrapped copper band on her left. Back, forth, back, forth, slowing down.

“You never told me.” Safran meant the words as a question, but they emerge as an accusation.

Mother’s sad gray eyes dart to the far corner. Next to the hearth rocks an empty crib, blankets strewn over the side like skin before surgery.

“It wasn’t yours to bear,” Mother whispers, her voice so faint Safran has to lean closer to listen. “You were a child.”

from Chapter 50 of Codename SPOOKY SEQUEL

Nightlight the Luceren

If you’re wondering what that phrase is supposed to mean, look no further! I’m excited to reveal the final artwork for Nightlight, a cuddly lizard-puppy who steals the show in Marrow and Soul.

Look how happy he is!

Worth Your Time

Kickstarter hosts so many great author campaigns year-round. Here are a few September entries you may like: