the joys of competent ignorance

plus preorders!

I’m no good at resolutions.

Yesterday, I wrote an article about this (sort of) on Vocal:

I love this idea of “competent ignorance” because it feels so self-contradictory. You insist you have no idea what you’re doing even as you do the thing you purport not to understand.

Isn’t being human fun?

I’ve spent the last seven years teaching thousands upon thousands of music lessons to hundreds of students. I used to walk into those lessons feeling like I knew nothing about how to teach.

These days, I feel that way about 50% of the time. Progress!

But when a student’s expression lights up with understanding, or a recital performance leaves them beaming, or they finally work their way through a piece that’s taken months to learn—those moments click for us in unison.

Both of us get it.

Both of us can do the thing.

So, resolutions. When you live with an inner critic that knows your weaknesses as well as you, everything feels impossible. The idea of maintaining or sustaining a healthy practice sounds far-fetched, because how could this morass of incompetent brain cells accomplish anything when he doesn’t know anything?

Still, I set goals for myself on New Year’s Day. Personal, professional, and relational goals. Here are the most important:

  • Give abundant grace to myself and others.

  • Choose patience.

  • Show kindness to my community.

  • Find time to breathe every day.

And maybe, one day, it’ll click that I can do it. My face will light up as this journey I’ve been on for nearly thirty years reaches a point, if not of completion, of fulfillment. And it’ll leave me beaming.

Because I get it.

Because I’m doing the thing.

Let the Preorders Commence!

You can now preorder the ebook on Amazon. Paperbacks and hardcovers will also be available on Amazon.

Barnes & Noble has a 25%-off preorder sale that ends today! If you’re a reward member (which is free), you can use the discount code PREORDER25 online. Why not use it to buy Marrow and Soul?

And, if you’re interested in a spoiler-free discussion, here’s the livestream from last Saturday!

If you’ve already read the book, email me for the SPOILER TALK section of the interview. You can also leave a review on Goodreads or at this Amazon link.

Writing Updates

SPOOKY SEQUEL // Out of sight; working on the “out of mind” part. I don’t have any insight into the edit’s actual progress; I’ll get updates from my editor when she reaches certain milestones.

SPOOKY THREEQUEL // I’m hitting that wall where nothing seems to work because this story is worthless and stupid. Not really, but that feeling shows up. This is a great opportunity to remind myself that this is a first draft, and it’s not designed to be perfect. But I can mold and shape it into something incredible.

That is, if I can get my characters to stop having conversations and actually get to that first plot point.

Don’t forget to preorder Marrow and Soul at your favorite retailer!