what else would i do?

Have you ever envied your friends for what they don’t have?

I’m blessed with a gaggle of musically talented friends. Some make their living as musicians, but most don’t. They’re engineers, or teachers, or parents.

There’s this thing I used to say in my head (and possibly out loud, to their faces). I saw how they had fulfilling careers in other fields, while I was hustling to make a living as a music teacher/performer/composer/church musician. Their gifts were extracurricular; mine felt central. I looked at them and thought, I don’t know what I would do for a career if I weren’t a musician.

That thought paralyzed me for a long time. I loved music, and I still love music, but my worth was wrapped up in the digits of my bank account. If I weren’t “making it,” or providing for my family, or increasing my income every year, I would be a failure. And what was my fallback if music didn’t work out? I didn’t have one.

In my most recent counseling session, I realized something: I haven’t thought that way in years.

I can credit a lot of sources for that. Marriage (and now fatherhood) have changed me. Therapy, for sure. Faith. Community. Taking responsibility for my own shortcomings.

But these days, as writing and editing have started to supplant music as my passion and my calling, I see myself differently. I’ve found a wonderful community and audience through this newsletter and social media. And I’ve found the courage to release my words for the world to take in.

What else would I do, if music were no longer an option? I’ve found my answer for this season.

What about you? What’s happening in your life that you once thought impossible?

Books!

Thanks to a Kindle Countdown deal, I’ve sold 23 books on Amazon this month. That may sound small, but it’s pretty significant to a baby author like myself. Add the wonderful support I’ve received from indie bookshops like Spellbound Bookstore, and I’m feeling the love these days.

Then there’s the new Kickstarter! Read more about that below.

Don’t forget to check out Marrow and Soul wherever books are sold!

Writing Updates

THREADS OF LIGHT // Beta readers will finish today! I’ve been implementing their feedback as it comes in. The last revision will be done by next week. Then I’m ordering proofs!

(P.S. Did you notice the new colors and background on the progress bars?)

KICKSTARTER // I’ll be revealing some tantalizing goodies for newsletter subscribers in the coming weeks! New artwork, cover reveals, and TWO Kickstarter rewards that will make you say: