MONDAYS

Since January 2017, I’ve spent most of my Mondays teaching private lessons at The Music Box.

Until now.

Last week was my final Monday. While I’ll still teach at the studio two days a week, my schedule will be significantly more open and flexible than it’s been in years.

Why did I do it? Two reasons. The first reason is family.

Baby H is a sleeping champ. Most of the time, he can knock out eight- or nine-hour nights with no fuss. My theory is that, after spending over two months with the sounds and lights of the NICU, Baby H has mastered the art of sleeping hard.

When he wants to, that is.

The point is, we’re really intentional about setting his schedule so he can get enough food and enough sleep. And as he enters the toddler phase, he may be going to bed around 7:00 or 8:00 pm.

On Mondays, I was teaching until 8:00.

Coming home to my baby and my wife has been one of the greatest consistent joys of my life. I don’t want to miss the way Baby H grows up because I’m working late at a studio. But making income is also nice, because we need it to feed, clothe, and shelter ourselves, and UBI isn’t a thing (yet).

Which brings me to my next point. The second reason is writing.

I’ve been blessed with an incredible opportunity to write books, but it doesn’t pay much at this point. What does pay is working with indie authors across the world to elevate their manuscripts. Editing for others has been an absolute delight, but it can be difficult to manage alongside teaching/babying/etc.

Eight months ago, when I first decided I wanted to drop Mondays, I had a lot of emotions. I was terrified of not being able to make up the income. I was sad for the students I’d have to release. I was anxious for the hours of marketing and planning that go into maintaining an editing business.

Fast forward to now. Emotions: still here. But the future I’d imagined has arrived, and I’m thrilled to face every Monday with the joy of doing what I love and the drive to do it to perfection.

If you’re an indie author who needs an edit pronto, I currently have 1-2 spots remaining in July 2024 (yes, this July). I’m offering a free sample edit and a 15% discount to anyone who’s interested in booking a July edit. Just respond to this email!

Whether you need copy editing, line editing, developmental editing, or my Indie Author Edit package, I’d love to find out if we’re a good match.

(I don’t run discounts, like, ever. Enjoy this one while it lasts.)

Books and Stores!

I’m returning to Spellbound Bookstore in Sanford, FL for their Get Lit Book Fair on Saturday, July 13. I’ll have a table from 11:45 am to 1:45 pm. If you’re in Central Florida, come say hi!

Don’t forget to check out Marrow and Soul wherever books are sold!

Writing Updates

SPOOKY SEQUEL // The beta read has started! My crack team of beta readers is the real test of whether this story sings. Some readers will focus on typos and confusing passages, while others will be more drawn to story issues and inconsistencies. By next month, I’ll have the feedback I need to finish polishing this manuscript into a ready-to-publish book—just in time for the title reveal!

I also started formatting the manuscript this week. Instead of letting software like Scrivener or Vellum do it, I’m doing it from scratch in Microsoft Word. After Marrow and Soul, I have a clearer idea of what I want and how to achieve it. The nerd in me is excited to work on the gritty details!

SPOOKY THREEQUEL // Now that the story has sat dormant for a while, I’m almost ready to begin the first revision. I have a long list of notes and questions to address. I’ll work on the big-picture stuff first, e.g., removing unnecessary characters and restructuring chapters to improve pacing. Then I’ll dive into scene details, motivation edits, and questions like “Where’d Nightlight go for those three chapters?” That will happen in July.

Authors—respond to this email for a free sample edit and a 15% discount on July 2024 editing services!