🖊 Keep it simple, sonny.

A word on verbally subjective sentences.

Today's newsletter: the basics, Seth Godin, and snapping back to reality.

Editing Tip #2

Sentences can be simple. You need a subject and a verb. That's it. Notice how a few short sentences here capture the reader's attention. When you aim for flash over substance, you risk alienating the reader.

"Don't need no pizza. They got food there." - Alex Hitchens (IYKYK)

I got some flak on Instagram for this view. Some people love their long sentences. I love them too...if they're good.

New Stuff

READ THIS if you like reading enumerated lists and then proceeding to make your own enumerated lists.

DON'T READ THIS if you abhor bald prognosticators.

READ THIS if you like magical realism and surprising punches in the face.

DON'T READ THIS if...nah. Just read it.

Writing Updates

Codename SPOOKY: As of this writing, I've received partial feedback from my editor. Despite the minor blows to my ego, I'm excited to make some additions and alterations to the story once I get the full edit. If all goes well, I'll have the manuscript ready for publication by the end of April!

Codename SPOOKY SEQUEL: The outline is DONE.

Okay, not done done. But I've reached the point where I need to start drafting so I can work out the details. I know what happens in every chapter, and I know the details of what happens in the first 17 chapters (about 31k words).

Now it's time for a marathon.

It took nearly two years to draft SPOOKY. I'm hoping to draft SPOOKY SEQUEL in six months.

Either way, you'll know how it happens.

Codename SPACEY: My process for this one has been like a funnel. I outlined the basic story with a foolscap, then worked out the scenes I would need and put them in the proper order. Next, I wrote the skeleton of each scene – the goal, conflict, disaster, reaction, dilemma, and decision – and bullet-pointed the plot of each scene from there. I'm still in the bullet-point phase, working through the latter half of the story. Once that's done, this novel will practically write itself. (Right? ...)

Maybe that sounds thrilling to you, or maybe you feel like one of my friends did when she saw my process on Instagram:

To answer her: it's SO FUN and YOU'RE MISSING OUT and IT MAKES ME WANT TO CRY SOMETIMES but IT'S GREAT.

Despite (or due to) my rigid outlining, I enjoy a flexible writing process. I can change character decisions, plot points, etc. as I write, then adjust my plan. I'm accountable to my outline, but it doesn't control me.

Plus, it gets me REALLY excited for writing those scenes that break my heart.

I'm taking a short break from SPACEY to focus on SPOOKY SEQUEL. If all goes well, I'll release SPOOKY in the fall, SPOOKY SEQUEL next summer or fall, and SPACEY after that, alongside more SPOOKY SEQUELS.

Gosh, I need to reveal those titles soon...

Something Different

I've played Wordle since the early days. I've also dabbled in Quordle (four puzzles at once), Absurdle (which changes the word in response to your guesses), and even Octordle (eight puzzles at once).

If you're into spelling and masochism, try Lirdle, which lies about one letter for every guess:

Share because you care...

...and because the first 50 subscribers (we're getting close!) get:

  • a free ebook

  • a free drafting tip sheet

  • an update on Friday about something really exciting (for me, at least)

Share this link with a friend who likes writing, fantasy, and/or avocado-themed graphics.