Priority

Did you know that the word “priority” was singular for five hundred years?

It’s true! And since I just know you’re yearning for academic sources, I’m happy to provide this random article from the Internet’s wellspring of veracity.

I’m not here to wax eloquent about the significance of priority gaining a plural form. Plenty of wax to be found elsewhere.

The point is, words change as circumstances change. And so do people.

As I prepare for some professional shifts, I’m reckoning with the expectations of who I thought I would become.

When I was 18, I thought I’d become a touring singer-songwriter.

When I was 16, I thought music would only ever be a hobby for me.

When I was 14, I thought I’d have a couple of kids by 25.

When I was 6, judging by my Halloween costume, I thought I’d be a firefighter.

I was consistently, competently wrong about a lot of things.

But when I was 11, I wrote a book about taking an adventure with my friends. There were zombies and rubber-band guns, and I somehow ended up a United States senator by the time my story’s apocalypse rolled around. It was ridiculous, inconsistent, and filled with childish angst and rivalries that I could never have expressed out loud.

I thought I’d become an author.

And I was right.

I’m learning to prioritize my current passions—family, faith, and writing. Synthesizing those passions with my circumstances is a lifelong journey, and as Baby H turns five months old (FIVE. MONTHS. OLD.) this week, I’m leaning into the trip.

Yes, I listed three priorities. Pre-1900’s linguists would be baffled.

Let them be.

Spellbound!

My first author event was so much fun! I got to spend time with several other local authors, meet some Instagram friends in person for the first time, and engage with new readers. I sold four books, which isn’t a crazy amount, but I’m just happy I got to be there.

And this may not be my last event at Spellbound…

I wonder if this GIF will play. I guess we’ll see!

Writing Updates

SPOOKY SEQUEL // I’m officially in the revision phase! Balancing revisions, drafting, and editing clients is a fun tightrope walk, but I’m excited to make it happen.

First up: depth of world building. I’m introducing a whole new province to Safran’s story, which means I’m creating a lot of background stuff to color her journey. If you’re looking for Robert Jordan-esque descriptions of city streets and hawkers crying their wares, though…you’ll have to keep looking. My goal is tight, effective, and evocative prose.

SPOOKY THREEQUEL // We’re in the endgame. And while this manuscript will almost certainly be longer than 90,000 words in its first draft, this climactic battle is going to synthesize so many pieces of the story world.

One of my readers mentioned that she wished there’d been more clarity on the supernatural elements of Marrow and Soul. I guarantee that SPOOKY SEQUEL and THREEQUEL will satisfy that desire…but it’ll hurt. I’m already heartbroken and I haven’t even finished the first draft.

:)

GOODREADS // Now that Marrow and Soul has been out for three months, I’ve been getting some excellent reviews like this one:

This fast-paced YA fantasy novel will keep you captivated from start to finish! Horner's prose is EXCELLENT, his characters are dynamic, and his storyline will keep you on the edge of your seat.

-Samantha’s 5-star review on Goodreads

My goal is to reach 50 reviews on Goodreads by September. If you’ve read the book, please consider leaving a review or even a rating for readers to enjoy! Reviews on other platforms like Amazon or Barnes & Noble are also really helpful.

What about you? What turned out differently than you expected when you grew up?