it's not delivery.

well, it IS delivery. but not the kind I expected.

Thursday, December 7 was supposed to be a normal day.

That’s when I sent my last newsletter. I talked about avocados and anxiety, as if I had any idea how much anxiety the day would truly hold.

Twelve hours later, I came home to learn that my wife had been experiencing some discomfort. This isn’t unusual for women who are 28 weeks pregnant.

Then discomfort turned to agonizing pain. By 9:30, we were off to the emergency room.

The nurses took their time running blood tests and such until one doctor’s inspection revealed an unexpected truth. She looked up at my wife, face filled with compassion and understanding.

“You’re in labor,” she said.

We became very popular very quickly. An army of medical professionals ushered us through the halls, up an elevator, and into a delivery room. And, as much as I love telling stories, I’ll save you the details.

Two hours after arriving at the hospital, we had a son.

He’s happy, healthy, and quite small. And as I consider the myriad of lessons I’ve learned as a new dad over the past two weeks, one rises above the rest.

No plan survives contact with the unexpected.

I was so worried about everything. I hadn’t taken the classes or read the books. In my genius, I’d saved those trivial tasks for the third trimester, which had barely started.

But it’s okay because, one step at a time, my wife and I are learning to be a mother and father. And I can imagine no greater joy.

As Marrow and Soul approaches its release date, I’m excited to share my stories with the world and to help other authors do the same. And as our little boy prepares to leave the hospital, I’m preparing to be the best father I can in word, deed, and example.

I want to become a successful author and editor. But more than that, I want to show my son how a man can love his family well.

This is where I usually include a call to action. I don’t have one today; I’m just thankful for my son, for my incredible wife, and for people like you who take this journey with me. Here’s to a lifetime of stories well told.

Kickstarter Backers…

No pictures today, but I found time between NICU visits to prepare the hardcover packages! I’m dropping them at the post office today.

The limited editions are here, though, and they are beautiful. Though the pearl linen covers don’t have any text, you’ll love the texture and the gorgeously printed illustrations inside. I’m packing and sending these after Christmas; US backers, you’ll likely have your copy by New Year’s Day!

Writing Updates

SPOOKY SEQUEL // I’ve submitted my information to my editor; as soon as she’s ready, she’ll dive into the developmental edit! In the meantime, I have plenty to keep myself occupied . . .

SPOOKY THREEQUEL // Thanks to a mini-retreat after the initial craziness of a new baby, I wrote over 4,000 words in the past 24 hours. This is the most twisty, action-filled, heart-pounding opening sequence I’ve written yet. I literally launched my protagonist off a cliff before finishing my drafting for the morning and walking away. I’m sure she’ll be fine.

IVORY // Nothing to report! I’m in passive brainstorming mode, letting the story marinate in my head as inspiration runs its ideas through my filters. The premise is alive and well, so I’m focusing on the protagonists’ arcs and character motivations.

Even as I type, I’m preparing to pack up and visit the hospital for a session of holding baby H. Next time: release info for Marrow and Soul!