🖊 SNEAK PEEK of Marrow and Soul!

Inside: the first two chapters of my upcoming YA fantasy.

If you’re in a TL;DR mood, read the free sample here!

Editing Tip of the Week

Write dialogue with purpose. When drafting a short story or novel, even plotters like me can ramble off-script when it comes to dialogue and character interactions.

The solution is not to fix it in the first draft. Once you have a holistic view of the story (i.e., once it’s written), focus on these three elements: character motivation, plot action, and dialogue. The first two will inform the third by helping you answer this question: what purpose does this dialogue serve?

If a piece of dialogue neither illuminates the character nor furthers the plot, you can cut or replace it. Not only will this habit pare down extraneous words—it may reveal scenes, characters, or even subplots that need to disappear.

Marrow and Soul Sneak Peek

It’s almost time.

I’m so excited to release Marrow and Soul—I can’t help but give you a snippet. Below are the first two chapters of Safran’s debut. I hope you fall in love with her journey as much as I have.

Writing Updates

Marrow and Soul: Files submitted, proofs requested! Within the next few days I’ll receive a digital proof of the paperback to approve. If everything looks good, I’ll order an author copy. Then YOU, my newsletter friends, will be the first to see the cover reveal before the Kickstarter launches!

Until then…read the free sample!

Codename SPOOKY SEQUEL: I’m in the thick of it. Four and a half chapters remain, and I am once again bummed that I can’t talk much about it ‘cause most of you haven’t read the FIRST book.

Current chapter teaser: hood, headscarf, ushanka.

Codename MEMORY: The detailed outline is coming along, but I’m focusing more on SPOOKY SEQUEL at the moment. I took a long walk yesterday morning and spent most of it brainstorming how to start SPOOKY SEQUEL SEQUEL.

Kickstarter Incoming…

Soon I’ll announce the launch date for Marrow and Soul’s Kickstarter. In the meantime, if you pre-save my campaign, you’ll get an email when it launches. I have some special things planned for early backers, so sign up at the link below!