🖊 About that word.

THAT, Greek philosophers, and codenames.

Today's newsletter: THAT, Greek philosophers, and codenames.

Editing Tip #1

Be wary of sentences that don't need the word "that." Use it with essential clauses, which you can learn about here. Essential clauses are key to the sentence's meaning. For nonessential clauses, use "which."

New Stuff

READ THIS if you like history, mind-bendy stories, and conspiracies.

DON'T READ THIS if you hate time travel.

Writing Updates

Codename SPOOKY: My editor Elizabeth is currently poring over this draft. Once I get her feedback, we'll do final edits. After that...Kickstarter, anyone? I'm aiming for an October 2023 OR January 2024 release.

When I do release public information about this project, you (the lovely subscribers) will be the first to know.

What I CAN say is that it involves heists, ghosts, and guava cardamom pastries.

Codename SPOOKY SEQUEL: Once upon a time, I had NO idea what to write in book 2. That's no longer the case. New locations, new characters, new mysteries, and new magics await. I get a bit giddy when I envision some of the scenes and moments in this one.

The basic outline is done, and the scene-by-scene breakdown is underway, but I'm taking it slow because of...

Codename SPACEY: I gained momentum on this story after the first chapter won finalist slots in two different writing contests. It's fantasy in a sci-fi, post-Earth universe where magic is fueled by the songs of the stars.

The basic outline is done, the scenes are set, and the scene breakdowns are halfway completed. I'm waiting on Codename SPOOKY to come back from the editor before I dive in, but y'all, I'm ITCHING to start drafting this one.

Something Different

Do nothing for 2 minutes. It's harder than you may think.

Let me know...

What would you like to see in this newsletter?